Toll Free : 1800 599 0007


Provincial Nomination Programs (PNP)


Most provinces and territories in Canada can nominate immigrants through the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP). These immigrants must have the skills, education and work experience to contribute to the economy of that province or territory, and must want to live there.

Each province and territory has its own “streams” (immigration programs that target certain groups) and criteria for their PNP. For example, in a program stream, provinces and territories may target students, business people, skilled workers or semi-skilled workers.

Since January 1, 2015, many provinces and territories have launched new Express Entry streams.

Who can apply as a provincial nominee

Each province and territory has its own streams and criteria for their Provincial Nominee Program (PNP).

Eligibility criteria

The eligibility criteria for the PNP is different based on whether you apply through the paper-based (non-Express Entry streams) or Express Entry (Express Entry streams) process.

If you are applying through the paper-based process

  • You must meet the minimum requirements of one of the province or territory’s non-Express Entry streams.
  • You must be nominated under that stream.

If you are applying through Express Entry

  • You must meet the minimum requirements of a province or territory’s Express Entry PNP stream.
  • You must be nominated under that stream.
  • You must create an Express Entry profile and show that you meet the minimum criteria for Express Entry, including the requirements of one of the immigration programs it covers.
  • Use our online tool, Come to Canada, to see if you may be eligible.

Note: We are updating the Express Entry system:

  • You can now earn additional points if you studied in Canada
  • A valid job offer now only needs to be for one year, and some job offers no longer need a Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA)
  • The amount of points you get for a job offer has changed
  • If you are invited to apply, you now have 90 days instead of 60.

Find out more about these changes and how they may affect you.

Contact the province or territory

To be nominated by a province or territory, you must follow the instructions on their website and contact them directly:

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Sraskatchewan
  • Yukon
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt